Revit Cloud Worksharing Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Cloud Worksharing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Cloud Worksharing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Separate model only for Sheets

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
gretabacalim
7490 Views, 15 Replies

Separate model only for Sheets

Hi all,

Here I am in a time in our project when one of our 5 models (we've already split the initial main model into 5 smaller ones) is beginning to be slow. The main problem is that it is the model with the most sheets so I was thinking of creating a separate model only for sheets.

I've never done this before so I feel like I need some advice on it. Is anyone out here using this method? What are the pros and cons? What should I know before I do this? Should I even do it?

Thank you guys! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts. 

Greta

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
laurasmagin
in reply to: gretabacalim

Hi,

We work on Major Projects so our method of working is to ensure productivity.

We work with 'Model' , 'Sheet View' , and a 'Sheet' Files.

The model files contain no annotation elements other than hybrid 3D elements such as Grids and Levels. This is the file we do all our 'modelling', this file contain views for linking that are set with the view template to ensure all annotation elements are off. (This avoids clean up when linking files in a shared environment.

The Sheet View files contains the model files linked by attached. Here is where our production team do the work to prepare the views (Sections, elevations, plans etc. for use on our 2D deliverable sheets. Sometime these are Primary and dependants, so we again reduce the efforts by annotating only once.

The Sheet files contains all the sheets for delivery. The sheet file contains linked views from the sheet view file, this file is attached.