Revit Cloud Worksharing Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Cloud Worksharing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Cloud Worksharing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recover Local File for A360 Collaboration

4 REPLIES 4
Reply
Message 1 of 5
emily.clark
1307 Views, 4 Replies

Recover Local File for A360 Collaboration

We had a user crash Revit before being able to sync to C4R, how can we get access to the local file to either make that the new central file OR copy/paste the changes.

 

 

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Lance.Coffey
in reply to: emily.clark

If the local file was saved (but not synchronized), then this file could be accessed when the user goes back to access the A360 Collaboration for Revit project.

If the local file was not saved, then there would be no local file to open and access the changes.

To verify this behavior, I went through the following steps:
    1. Open C4R project and make changes.
    2. Save locally.
    3. Kill Revit process (using TSKILL Revit.exe).
    4. Reopen Revit and C4R project.
    5. Received message: “Saved Changes Not Synchronized” with the following options
    Keep my changes and open the model
    Discard my changes and open the latest version of the model
    6. I selected “Keep my changes and open the model.”
    7. Changes in local file were retained and could be synchronized.

Note: With C4R, the local file is not exposed to the user, local files are automatically created as needed (there is no option to manually create a local file or specify the location of a local file).

One other possibility is that the local file is damaged to the point where it could not be opened. In this case Revit may be able to recover by creating a new local, but you would not be able to recover the changes.



Lance Coffey

Technical Support Specialist
Message 3 of 5
Lance.Coffey
in reply to: emily.clark

Were you able to open the file, and continue using the existing local file?



Lance Coffey

Technical Support Specialist
Message 4 of 5
emily.clark
in reply to: Lance.Coffey

So based on what you stated above, when a user accesses a project, it does not create a new local file?  If they saved their local file and closed out and then went back and access the project the next day, it would bring up the last local file and not overwrite and create a new one?  I'm just trying to understand how this works, I really appreciate your help.

Message 5 of 5
Lance.Coffey
in reply to: emily.clark

I'm not sure how I missed your reply, but I am sorry for not replying earlier.

 

Regarding the creation of new local files this should be handled by Revit automatically. If the user synchronizes their local file before closing, then when re-opening the model Revit will decide if the existing local is used or a new one created.


The prompt I mentioned oreviously would only show up, when opening the model, if there were changes in the local model that were not synchronized.



Lance Coffey

Technical Support Specialist

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Post to forums  

Autodesk DevCon in Munich May 28-29th


Autodesk Design & Make Report