Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Walls/finish layer going through my windows

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
x.donnegerlich
2921 Views, 8 Replies

Walls/finish layer going through my windows

Good afternoon!

As the title says, my walls or my finish layer (I'm not sure which one) is covering or going through my windows. I'm pretty new to Revit, but everything was fine when I created the wall openings and inserted my Window Family into my project. However, once I started creating the different layers and materials in my exterior walls, my windows disappeared. You can still see the window frames from the bottom of the windows, but the window itself appears to be inside my wall. I added a screenshot below.

Can anyone help me with this problem? I have to hand my project in this Sunday, so any help would be great!

Thank you in advance!

Revit problem 23-3-2017.jpg

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: x.donnegerlich

Is this wall a full-height wall from ground floor to eave or 2 stacked walls?

Also, are the various wall layers actual layers in the wall family or multiple walls laminated onto each other?  It looks to me like you may have laminated multiple wall entities to produce that wall.  If you "Join" the layers, the openings should cut.  The better solution though would be to edit the wall family's structure and add material layers that way.

Perhaps post your actual model?

EDIT:

I notice too that your sills seem extremely low.  Are you sure you have the head/sill elevations set correctly?

Message 3 of 9
x.donnegerlich
in reply to: Anonymous

Thank you for your reply!

I've attached my model to this reply, so you can take a look.

Sorry if it's not the best, but it's my first model in Revit I have to make (for school).