Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating a Family in Multiple Projects

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
cc4535
5587 Views, 12 Replies

Updating a Family in Multiple Projects

So, we are an AEC firm and our average project has 15 .rvt files minimum we have had projects that top 100 + .rvt files. My question is. Is there a Dynamo script or a Add-in or anything else that can I can use to choose a single family and update it in all the .rvt files in one of our projects. I know this is possible, I used to build families for a company that did similar things to this, I am just not a programmer or very intelligent about Dynamo. Does anyone have a suggestion or a solution?

Chuck Conley
M3 Engineering
12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
barthbradley
in reply to: cc4535

@cc4535wrote:

I know this is possible

I'm not so sure about that, @cc4535.

This question has been fielded before, and I don't recall there ever being an "automated" solution offered. I even wonder if such a "blind" batch updating tool would do more harm than good. 

I'll stay tuned... 

Message 3 of 13
Corsten.Au

May I know which family you are looking for??

Corsten
Building Designer
Message 4 of 13
cc4535
in reply to: Corsten.Au

So, our firm has 15 plus central files to create a single project. We do Mining facilities which are made up of multiple areas with multiple buildings in each area which creates a lot of central files. If we have for example an updated Title Block we have to open all 15 plus central files and update this title block. Does anyone have an automated way of doing this??

Chuck Conley
M3 Engineering
Message 5 of 13
Corsten.Au

Hi
Seems you can use dynamo for that..
Simple script
1. Select the folder ( where Revit files are )
2. Open the file
3. Open particular Revit family