Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slab Opening Family

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Berrys_Cooling_Drafter
2352 Views, 8 Replies

Slab Opening Family

Hi,

I am new to Revit never created any family yet.

I am a mechanical drafter so I need to be able to create slab openings and usually, they are different for every floor

I am looking to create a slab opening family that I can control the width and length of the opening.

The shaft opening command doesn't always work for me because at times i need a different size for every floor.

can you teach me how do I create such a family that I can place on a slab and it will create an opening that I can control the dimensions for that specific opening

thank you  

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Go to new -> family -> create face based or floor based family. Model a rectangular void with dimensions to the reference lines/sketch lines, assign instance or type parameters to those lenght/width dimension. (Cut host... ^^ although cutting in the project is also possible ) Select cut with voids and load into project. That should do it. FYI void openings are better than shafts if you have phasing requirements. Bet someone can make a screencast or some images, cant at the moment.^^

Message 3 of 9

1. You can just use the Vertical Cut Opening tool to draw the slab opening directly in project.

2. If you want a loadable family, start from a floor based family or a face based family:

2a. If floor based, draw a Cut Opening and add parameters to control the dimensions.