Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Failed to Open Document"

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
667 Views, 3 Replies

"Failed to Open Document"

Hello!

I have tried to open a document and it says firs that I need to update the file to Revit 2020. After doing that it says "Failed to Open Document".

I have tried the backup files for this as well and nothing works. Can someone PLEASE help, I will now lose 6 hours of work and I am just learning the program so it will be another 6 hours of work that I don't have time for. I have tried every troubleshooting issue that I can find. The file is too big to upload here. 

Thank you!

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
barthbradley
in reply to: Anonymous

see if you can Open the File with "Audit" Checked.  

...something I don't understand. Why are you Upgrading the Project? Why don't you Open it with the Version you've been working in?  You don't have to Upgrade it if you don't want to.  Start a Session of the Revit Version you were working in and Open the file via File:Open.    

Message 3 of 4
ennujozlagam
in reply to: Anonymous

the only way we can help you is to share the file here? you can use WETRANSFER and give us the link. thanks

Remember : without the difficult times in your LIFE, you wouldn't be who you are today. Be grateful for the good and the bad. ANGER doesn't solve anything. It builds nothing, but it can destroy everything...
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question. Kudos gladly accepted.
Message 4 of 4
rookio
in reply to: ennujozlagam

Hey Guys I am experiencing the same or very similar issue here.

The strange part is that i AM using the same version of revit to open the file, but the error states that it is trying to upgrade from Revit 2009. (never used 2009 in our office)