Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joining Multiple Hip Roofs and Attaching Interior Walls

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
1058 Views, 4 Replies

Joining Multiple Hip Roofs and Attaching Interior Walls

This is my first time creating a forum post; normally I'm able to find solutions to my Revit problems by reviewing the posts of others, but no such luck this time.

I'm working on a project in a jurisdiction that has fairly strict style guidelines, especially when it comes to roofs. Buildings are very low scale, have hipped roofs, and are bunched together. As you can see in the attached AXON image, I'm specifically working on three small buildings with attached hip roofs, which obviously create prominent valleys between them. I haven't figured out a good way to create this form as a single roof, so I've instead created six individual roofs (three for the main hips and three for the porches), all by footprint and joined together. This looks reasonably alright from the outside, but presents a problem on the interior. Looking at the attached SECTION image, I'm stuck with either overlapping roof overhangs on the inside, or, if I use the Vertical Opening tool to "slice" off these overhangs, with walls that won't attach to the underside of these valleys. So I guess I have two questions:

1.) Is there a more effective way to create and/or join this roof structure?

2.) Is there a way to attach interior walls to two roofs where they meet in a valley?

Thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
dzanta
in reply to: Anonymous

Use the Join Roof command to join the three roofs together....this will get rid of the overlapping roof ends

Walls attach to 1 host object at a time such as a roof above.  You may need to use Edit Profile to sketch the wall

Alternately: