Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IFC Import to revit 2017, materials are all grey

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
749 Views, 3 Replies

IFC Import to revit 2017, materials are all grey

Hi all,

My name is Fred, I'm not a Revit expert, I'm pretty much self taught.

I'm trying to work on a project that somebody else generated on Archicad. My task is to just make the render out of this project which is already finished.

I received a IFC file of the project that I can open on my Revit 2017, I can see the projects clearly with no defects, but I don't seem to be able to modify anything on it, like I said, I just need to render this project, so I don't need to change details and or dimensions. But still, it's kind of odd that I can't do almost anything at all with the elements of this small project.

The only information I need to be able to see is the materials that this guy assigned to all the objects. But when I go and render everything is plain grey, including all the windows, they're all just grey surfaces.

I looked around the forums, tried some options I read, such as saving it as .rvt and open it up again, but still, I seem to able to only change very little in the parameters. And even if I'm able to change the "material/finishes" in some of this "anonymous" object that compose the project, everything will still look plain grey when rendering.

When I accepted this rendering job I thought it would have been a relatively easy task to just work on the renders on somebody else Archicad work, but it doesn't look that simple anymore.