Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to design a corrugated roof in Revit?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
jmmeshack
3518 Views, 6 Replies

How to design a corrugated roof in Revit?

I want to define a corrugated iron sheet roof but cant remember how to go about it.

Title edited for clarity by @Viveka_CD

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Corsten.Au
in reply to: jmmeshack

Message 3 of 7
bimscape

The first question you need to ask yourself is....

Do I "need" to model (in 3D) the corrugations- or is it sufficient to just show them as as a series of lines? As always, there's pros and cons.

I think it's important that people think out what they want / need from a component / system family before they embark on it's creation.

Kind regards,
Ian

Author of The Complete Beginners' Guide to Autodesk Revit Architecture (free online course)
Message 4 of 7
Sahay_R
in reply to: bimscape

I'm with @bimscape on this. However, if you really are a sucker for punishment, try by modeling the Roof as Extrusion. hat would be helpful if you need only a couple of instances. If you are going to use this a bunch of times. then the approach suggested by @dzanta in the screencast mentioned by @Corsten.Au would be the way to go.

Rina Sahay
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Architecture Certified Professional

If you find my post interesting, feel free to give a Kudo.
If it solves your problem, please click Accept to enhance the Forum.
Message 5 of 7
ToanDN

Agreed with @bimscape - don't over model if you don't have to.  My order of tools to create a corrugated roof.  The first one is my preference and the last three are equally in terms of favorable.

1. Using a normal roof and assign a material with a simple model surface pattern and a good corrugated metal image/bump map for realistic/rendering