Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a library of my families

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
J_DuranH2JCU
922 Views, 15 Replies

Creating a library of my families

I have to model a bunch of lighting fixtures with different sizes, lighting options, etc. and want to put them all in a single library. Would the best way be to compact these be to model them out as a family and create a library (if so, how) or model them out regularly and create a library (if so, how). I'm new to Revit and need to figure out the best way to do this. Any suggestions help.

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
barthbradley
in reply to: J_DuranH2JCU

Not sure what the question is.  Saving a Revit rfa file is no different that saving any other file.  Why don't you just save your custom content to the stock Revit Content Library Folder?  It's pretty decently structured.  

https://www.autodesk.com/support/technical/article/caas/tsarticles/ts/24e0wvcXEokcfVbvUZtezv.html

Message 3 of 16
ToanDN

If you have already created different families then just save them in a folder and insert them in projects when needed. No good  reason to make them into one family.

Message 4 of 16
J_DuranH2JCU

I've created a set of lighting fixtures to upload to a website for people to download. I want them to download the fixtures and be able to get all the variants within the single download, rather than having to download all the fixtures at once. Is it possible to create a library that includes all the fixtures and that can also be downloaded? Not sure if that makes more sense.

Message 5 of 16
barthbradley
Message 6 of 16
jad447
in reply to: barthbradley

I'm responding from my personal account.