Community
PowerMill Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s PowerMill Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular PowerMill topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copy block to other toolpaths

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
tkirschJF49Y
799 Views, 9 Replies

Copy block to other toolpaths

Hi Guys,

I am hoping that I am just a noob and there is a better way to copy blocks between toolpaths.

I am reworking a project using imported triangles for my block. I need every toolpath to share this same block. So, I manually updated the block in toolpath '1'. Then, I activate toolpath '2', right click on toolpath '1' and select "recreate block". Rinse and repeat for another 30 toolpaths.

This seems to work, but it's slow and tedious. Is there a better way?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Pijetro
in reply to: tkirschJF49Y

Simple....

Edit the first block that you like...

Click OK to that strategy..

That block is locked to that strategy...

Go to your explorer tree, and shift select all your toolpaths that want the same block...

When they're higlighted, simply right click over the toolpaths, and go to Edit>Set Named Parameters..

Start typing in BLOCK...

Click the accept checkmark when complete...

All toolpaths will share the same block.

Message 3 of 10
TK.421
in reply to: Pijetro

wow. I've been using it for years and never knew that trick! I always changed mine with macro, but this sounds way faster!

--------------------------------------
the numbers never lie
Message 4 of 10
Pijetro
in reply to: TK.421

Opens up a whole can of worms for us users who need to do batch edits on the fly...

You can do this with workplanes, boundaries, leads/links, thickness sets, etc....

Basically. Anything with a value or parameter, you can do it..

There's been time when I've caught mistakes, and had to batch change, and batch recalculate..

Powermill gives me the power to get another coffee..

Message 5 of 10
iamcdn79