Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making an STL useful

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
MichaelScholtz
655 Views, 3 Replies

Making an STL useful

I am a F360 novice and thought it might be useful for others if I posted solutions to things that seem easy after figuring them out as I figure them out,.

Working with STL files files are a mainstay for many CAD users as the internet is full of freely available STL designs.

However I found that working with them in F360 is a pain compared to what I know which is FreeCAD

1st - importing STL files.

There are 2 ways to import. you can upload to the web which adds the file as a new design. - this is a long way around.

it is easier to click on insert and then insert mesh which will import it into the working document.

2nd - STL size importing wrong

When i initially imported STL files (and this may be due to doing it the 1st way,) my STL files where ending up 10x bigger than they should have been. Turns out its a odd setting. click on your name on the top right. - then go to preferences. under preferences you have default units and under that there is Design. set then to mm and designs should import correctly.

3rd editing STL files.

Once you have the STL file in your work making it useful can be tricky. mush of the time I use it as a template to redraw the model.

To get the STL as it is to make anything other than a pretty useless you need to convert it to a BREP file.

If you're having trouble finding it its with good reason. its only available if you have design history turned off. ( you can turn it on again after the conversion)

To do this right click on the name of the design right under where it says browser.