Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
.NET
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BlockReferenceIds is sometimes EMPTY?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1628 Views, 6 Replies

BlockReferenceIds is sometimes EMPTY?

I feel like this is more of a sanity check question. I slightly struggle to understand a certain aspect of how AutoCAD manages its blocks in a drawing given the problem I am facing.

I am trying to find an inserted block in the drawing with a specific name - if I am not very technical, I would refer to that as a Block Reference, where as the Block/Block Record being the definition of the block itself - please correct me if otherwise.

I am using the following function to dig into the Database and retrieve the reference I am seeking:

// Searches the drawing for a block with the specified name.
        // Returns either the block, or null - check accordingly.

private BlockReference GetBorderReference(string _BorderName)
        {
            BlockReference blkRef = null;

using (Transaction _trans = acDb.TransactionManager.StartTransaction())
            {

BlockTable blkTable = _trans.GetObject(acDb.BlockTableId, OpenMode.ForRead) as BlockTable;
                BlockTableRecord blkRecord;

if (blkTable.Has(_BorderName))
                {
                    ObjectId BlkRecId = blkTable[_BorderName];

if (BlkRecId != null)
                    {
                        blkRecord = _trans.GetObject(BlkRecId, OpenMode.ForRead) as BlockTableRecord;

ObjectIdCollection blockRefIds = blkRecord.GetBlockReferenceIds(false, false);

foreach (ObjectId blockRefId in blockRefIds)
                        {