Did you mean: 

Automating the "open - select file" command

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
dustin.schouster
1243 Views, 7 Replies

Automating the "open - select file" command

I am using the Visual Studio 2015 - .net framework in C#.  I am a new to C# but fairly experienced in C++, so programming in general I would consider myself a novice, not a complete newb.

I am new to the AutoCAD customization world, just finished my first "Hello World" plug-in.  Please keep this in mind when reading the nature of my question :).  I plan to go through more tutorials but I would like to start taking bite size chunks of what I am trying to accomplish.

Right now we have a custom application that is loaded automatically when starting AutoCAD.  This is corporate wide and I don't want to modify this  (though I could simply replace it eventually if need be).  For now let's just assume I want to interface with this using my own script.

This application can be ran typing in a simple command.  Let's just call it simpCommand.

When I type in "simpCommand", a window pops up and it wants me to select a file in my local directory.

is it possible to type "simpCommand" and something right after it to automatically locate the file I want it to pick.  Or is it possible to have my C# .net interface to type in "simpCommand" and select the file for me.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

You can set the FILEDIA system variable to 0 to disable the file selection dialog, and you will be prompted for files on the command line, which you can reply to via scripting.  Be sure to set FILEDIA back to its previous value afterwards.

@dustin.schouster wrote:

I am using the Visual Studio 2015 - .net framework in C#.  I am a new to C# but fairly experienced in C++, so programming in general I would consider myself a novice, not a complete newb.