Inventor Nastran Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’sInventor Nastran Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor Nastran topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contact for very large interference with compressible material.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
stuartf
425 Views, 3 Replies

Contact for very large interference with compressible material.

Hi Everyone

I am fairly new to Nastran and am struggling with a problem involving a very large interference fit with a compressible material. Due to IP restrictions at work I cant upload my model but have replicated the problem with a simpler model.

In this example I have a cylindrical part that is wrapped in a layer of compressible insulating material. It is inserted into a thin stainless steel sleeve so that the insulation is compressed and holds the inner cylinder inside the sleeve. The insulation is 8mm thick and needs to compress to 5mm. I have modeled the insulation at the uncompressed thickness and want to simulate the effect it has on the sleeve. Below is a picture of the model with a section cut away.

Test Sample Assembly.jpg

I am using a non linear study and have manually entered the material properties I have for the insulation material. I have set it to nonlinear elastic and entered the data I have for the stress strain curve. For the sleeve I have left it to behave in a linear fashion as I don't expect it to deform much and will certainly remain elastic.

For the study I am using a dummy temperature load and ignoring the inner cylinder. I have fixed the inner face of the insulation as I expect no movement here. To simplify things I have also cut the model along all 3 planes of symmetry and put symmetry constraints on these faces. I am also using shell elements for the sleeve although I have also tried solid elements without success.