Community
Mudbox Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Mudbox Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Mudbox topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Painting with stamps creates weird coloured noise and wet edges

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
844 Views, 5 Replies

Painting with stamps creates weird coloured noise and wet edges

Hi everyone,
I'm new to mudbox 2012 and not that talented with technical stuff, so I hope my questions are detailed enough for you to help me.
I'm just figuring out how to use stamps for painting textures.
I want to get a painted look for my objects by working with different stamps.

So I converted some of my photoshop brushes but in mudbox they create weird coloured noise and something that lookes like wet edges. Especially when circling around on the same spot. The dodge tool makes them even more visible.
Two of the mudbox stamps behave similarly, the plain white square and the rectangle.

The other mudbox default stamps are working just fine.

My workflow: I imported my obj, subdivided it some levels, assigned a mudbox material with a colour complementary to my final coice of colour and then painted it all over with a base colour on a new paint layer(1024x1024 pixels, 16 bit Tiff).
When I start to paint on that grounded layer with my converted stamps the problems appears.
It seems like these brushes don't cover the area properly with one colour, but bringing darker pixels and even green and red pixels to the texture.

Now I'm wondering, if there's something wrong with my conversion from photoshop, I followed the intructions of this tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t0BRlLR5UKE
Basically inverting the brushes and saving them as 8bit pngs.
I also tried to change the different stamp properties, like stamp spacing and strengh in mudbox, but nothing would work. The artifacts still appear.