Community
Mudbox Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Mudbox Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Mudbox topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mudbox sucks up all my RAM

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
VictorvdBrink
1199 Views, 10 Replies

Mudbox sucks up all my RAM

So I am pretty much desperate at this point...

I am very new to Mudbox. I recently installed the student version of Mudbox 2016.

I have made a terrain mesh in Maya consisting of 1000 poly's, I exported it as an .fbx and then imported it in Mudbox because I wanted to create more detail. 

However pretty much anything I try to do, causes Mudbox to suck up all 16gb of my RAM memory and crash. I have a friend who uses Mudbox aswell and can easily work with several million poly's, however I can barely manage 100.000 without crashing. 

He has pretty much the same specs as me aswell. 

I also might be worth mentioning that if I pick one of Autodesk's standard meshes that you can choose from when opening Mudbox I seem to encounter these issues far less quickly. 

Please help me, I really need this to work quick. 

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11

I'm just bumping this because I really, really need a solution for this. If anybody can help I'd be really apprecaited. 

Message 3 of 11

Ok I've solved the problem by removing mudbox 2016 and installing mudbox 2015. However now I've run into a diffrent problem. For some reason the smooth tool doesn't seem to work properly. Infact it seems to do the exact oppesite of smooting, it seems to pull out the mesh more than smooth it down. 

Message 4 of 11
smarakesch
in reply to: VictorvdBrink

Hi Victor, try to press ctrl wile using the brush ... that should invert it the funcion.

Message 5 of 11
VictorvdBrink
in reply to: smarakesch