Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Struggling to fill small holes on bolus for radiation therapy. also separating an object along a selection line. (pics inside)

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
dneill90
489 Views, 5 Replies

Struggling to fill small holes on bolus for radiation therapy. also separating an object along a selection line. (pics inside)

Hi I'm a radiation therapist trying to use Meshmixer to create 3d bolus. (custom form fitting devices that increase radiation dose to the skin). 

We continually hit problems with small gaps and holes in our exported bolus, this comes from a program called eclipse, I'm struggling to find the right tools or options to fix these holes.   I've tried selecting the inside facets and hitting bridge but it errors and doesn't work. the brush tools just make a mess of it and keeping the original thickness of the print is very important to its dosimetric properties. close gaps doesn't work either. 

Also I'm trying to test making silicone molds for some of our more complex area bolus prints and I've gotten to the stage i have a hollow object exactly what i want for the mold. i select the half i want and i just cant get it to separate correctly along that line. it grabs like the skin rather than right down the middle of my selection keeping 2 3d parts. this isn't okay because the inside is perfect for my bolus mold. 

Any ideas what i need to be clicking at these stages. pics in attachments. 

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
hfcandrew
in reply to: dneill90

Might be able to so a Select>Deform>Smooth

Or  select>Erase and fill

I'm not sure exactly where the problem is coming from though, I'll need you to attach the .mix of an example, and maybe also post a video of your workflow where this is occuring.

Message 3 of 6
dneill90