Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Separate mold (no plain cut)

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
m.van.hameren
453 Views, 8 Replies

Separate mold (no plain cut)

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to MeshMixer and got a problem with separating a mould into 2 separate parts.

From a third party I receive a mesh which has a very irregular 3D shape and is 5 mm thick. From that mesh I need to make a mold, which is quite simple in Meshmaker with the offset, invert and flip normals command. That mold is going to printed on the 3D printer in PLA with 2mm wall thickness. The mold gets filled with liquid Silicone. Once hardened I need to get the silicone part out so I have to cut open the mould along the edges. This is not very easy job, I use a kind of Dremel tool handmill and an oscillating sawblade to do so. Because of the generated heat the PLA starts to melt again which is annoying and makes it all kinda messy and the edges of the silicone part gets some damage.

So what I really need is a way to separate the mold along the edges so that I can 3d print them seperatly, tape the two parts together and then pore the silicone in. But the edges are very irregular as mentioned so a plain cut will not do. Is there a way in MeshMaker to do this?? 

Thanx in advance, Mark.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
hfcandrew
in reply to: m.van.hameren
Message 3 of 9
m.van.hameren
in reply to: hfcandrew

edit sorry for this

Message 4 of 9
hfcandrew

np, its a long thread.

If you get stuck just post again with your .stl attached.

Message 5 of 9
m.van.hameren

Hi hfcandrew,

I'm completely lost in that tutoral from MagWeb in your link.

This seems a bit more for the advanced MM user.

Could you give it a try??

Thanks, Mark.

Message 6 of 9
hfcandrew