Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie questions

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
tom.wende
779 Views, 16 Replies

Newbie questions

Hey, folks,

I've tinkered with MeshMixer for a few hours, studied the MM help section a fair bit and cruised this forum, but as a rote newbie, I'm not sure that I'm thinking correctly about what I want to do, and how to accomplish it.  I'm faced with a fairly steep hill to climb.

The project is to create a printed mold of a high-polygon object.  It will be a fairly large mold, requiring the positive to be sliced and flanged so that the mold parts can be bolted together accurately.  Taking the sample bunny as an example, here's what I THINK the workflow would be, but I am unsure of how best to accomplish it:

- In MM (presumably using the Edit | Offset tool), "dip the rabbit in chocolate," i.e. add a 2mm "skin" to the object.  The inner skin would have to conform precisely to the rabbit's outer surface to preserve detail, the outer skin would be less detailed to speed up printing;

- In MM, remove the original object, leaving the shell (unsure of how to do this);

- (In MM or another piece of software, open to suggestions), add flanges and keys to the mold where it will be sliced;

- Add holes to the flanges in the same diameter as the bolts that will be used to combine the printed parts;

- Slice through the center of the flanges to create the flanged and keyed mold parts.

I'm unsure if I'm thinking about these steps correctly, but it makes sense to me to create a planar object 4mm thick, merge it with the model, remove the part that impinges on the mold's interior, and then slice through its midpoint to assure alignment of the mold parts.  I'm just unsure of how to do it, and whether MeshMixer is even the right tool for that.