Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring surface area on parts of a 3D scan

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
leung_chinghei55
208 Views, 3 Replies

Measuring surface area on parts of a 3D scan

Hello, I am studying marine biology in university and I am trying to measure the surface area of a coral fragment that is covered by living tissue. I have tried to do that using the following steps:

1. Flip the 3D model using EDIT transform

Screenshot 2024-05-18 130033.png

2.Align the 3D model to the plane using EDIT/align

Screenshot 2024-05-18 130133.png

3. Isolate the area of interest by using the SELECT tool and pressing "Y"

Screenshot 2024-05-18 161508.png

4. Run ANALYSIS/stability to obtain surfance area

Screenshot 2024-05-18 161630.png

I have tried to run ANALYSIS/inspection before getting the surface area but parts of the area I am interested in are flattened. 

Screenshot 2024-05-18 162102.png

Is there other way that I should use to get an accurate measurement of the surface area from a section of a 3D model? Thank you

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
MagWeb
in reply to: leung_chinghei55

If you just want to get the surface area you don't need step 1 and 2

Your strategy in step 3 and 4  (isolating the area of interest via SELECT and Separate("Y") and running ANALYSIS/Stability) is the only way in MM to get a partial surface area. Basically it should return the sum of all separated triangles' areas.

Did you get some unexpected results?

Your attempt to fill  the open boundary of the separated surface via ANALYSIS/Inspector gives self intersections in your case but might construct a closed volume in other cases.  Anyhow: It adds an additional surface area  (the infill) ...

BTW: You might want to hide the printer rendering. See menu:View>ShowPrinterBed. Click it to get rid of it.