Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increasing Hole (cavity) depth

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Anonymous
611 Views, 1 Reply

Increasing Hole (cavity) depth

Hi there,  I have an STL model of an object I 3D scanned and need to increase the hole/cavity depth by 3 inches (76mm).  (reference screen shots below)  The diameter of the hole/cavity is 22mm.  I attempted to see if the "Add Tube" option might be a possibility, but the Radius size maxes out at 10mm.  I am very new to Meshmixer and am still going through initial tutorials to get a handle on this robust software. 

I first referenced the "Increasing hole size" topic on this forum to see it that might help.  I gave it a try and was able to increase cavity with some trial and error.  

There must be an easier way though.  Is there a way to set the desired diameter (22mm) and depth of area (hole/cavity) you want to extend and increase by 76mm?  Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 5.56.34 PM.pngScreen Shot 2019-03-04 at 5.57.04 PM.pngScreen Shot 2019-03-04 at 5.58.34 PM.png

Tags (1)
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
MagWeb
in reply to: Anonymous

The workflow you linked to only works on meshes with a sharp falloff between hole and surface. A scan will hardly own such sharp edges.

I would delete the hole totally and do a new one by using SELECT/Deform/Transform from scratch:

1. Save the holes center as a pivot: Cut off a ring on the small flange around the hole using EDIT/Planecut. This should create a plane face group all around the hole. Select this group and the inside surface and discard >> should result in a single circular open boundary. Go to EDIT/CreatePivot . Set its PlacementMode = SnapToBoundaryCenter and double click on the boundary. This should drop a pivot.

2. Close the hole using ANALYSIS/Inspector at HoleFillMode = SmoothFill.