Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how can i calculate volume difference of two objects?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
merveesekerr
1761 Views, 4 Replies

how can i calculate volume difference of two objects?

I’m a dentist and researcher. In my doctoral thesis, I will look at whether there is a volume difference between teeth images taken with two different intraoral cameras from the same tooth in Meshmixer. I will also look at volume loss after removing the caries. (I looked at similar topics in the forum boolean dif etc but i couldn't solve my own problem)

I know how to make the image solid and calculate volume, but I need to cut and compare images at the same border. Since the cutting line is indented (transition between tooth tissues), I try to cut the two images of same tooth by putting the raw image side by side. There are several mm3 volume differences. But this difference is important for our study. Because it will be understood as the difference between cameras.

In order to explain the problem better, I am sending stl images (1. Cerec cam, 2. itero cam and 3 make solid 1'st cam) as examples.

I would appreciate if you could spare time and help.

Labels (1)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
MagWeb
in reply to: merveesekerr

I get a difference in volume of 2.027mm^3 

1. To avoid transparency in the Align tool I use some image SHADER (any but the first 5 will do)

2. I roughly EDIT/Align 2.stl to 1.stl using corresponding SurfacePoints as Source and Destination (Press Shift to click the Destination)

3. I set 1.stl as a target, SELECT the area of interest on 2.stl and run Edit/AlignToTarget. Hit ImproveSolution until 2.stl doesn't move any more.

4. EDIT/Combine both .Stl s.

5. Run PlaneCut below 3g1 on the combined .Stl s.

6. Run SeparateShells on the Stl s.