Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gyroid Lattice Repair issue

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
farouqcr9
703 Views, 3 Replies

Gyroid Lattice Repair issue

Hello everyone,
I'm a mechanical engineering student currently doing my final year project studying the effect of different Triply Periodic Minimal surface architectures on cell growth. One of the structures i have to generate and 3D print is the Gyroid lattice structure. I used MATLAB to generate the OBJ file and then imported the file to Netfabb and Meshmixer to give thickness to the OBJ file and repair it for 3D printing. However, i cant seem to get either Netfabb or Meshmixer to appropriately repair it. Here are the images gyroid lattice (5x5x2) after the failed repair. Repair fail.PNGgyroid fail.PNGi suspect that the issue comes from the 2 circled areas in the front where the orange portions self intersect, those are the areas that lead to the failed repair in contrast to the 3rd circled portions where there are no self intersections and the repair in that region is successful noi suspect that the issue comes from the 2 circled areas in the front where the orange portions self intersect, those are the areas that lead to the failed repair in contrast to the 3rd circled portions where there are no self intersections and the repair in that region is successful no

May i please get any assistance in regards to the matter? whether it maybe a way to repair the lattice correctly or by altering the code. Here is the code i used to generate the OBJ file 
a=5*pi;
s=pi/10;
[x,y,z]=meshgrid(-a:s:a,-a:s:a,-2*pi:s:2*pi);
cx = cos (2*x);
cy = sin(2*y);
cz = cos (2*z);
u = 10*(2*cos (x).* sin (y) + cos (y).* sin (z) + cos (z).* sin (x))-6;
[f,v]=isosurface(u,0);
vertface2obj(v,f,'Gyroid6.obj');

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
MagWeb
in reply to: farouqcr9