Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flaring edges of a half splint

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
theebadge
618 Views, 3 Replies

Flaring edges of a half splint

Hi there- absolute beginner here.  I've been messing around learning Meshmixer by repairing a poorly scanned foot.

My initial goal is to make a solid half splint that the foot/ankle/calf can rest in- will try to design modifications in the future. 

What is the best way to flare the edges around the the calf/ankle so there won't be a flush edge that the skin will rest against? 

With the attached photo, I have done this by using the sculpt and draw tool to pull them out, and then smoothing. Is there a better way? 

Thanks!

Ben

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
hfcandrew
in reply to: theebadge

I'm a Pedorthist I use MM daily to design orthotics and AFOs.

Watch: https://autode.sk/3bS0CkI

1. Start by making a duplicate of your original so you have a way of referencing how much you have flared your med&lat borders.
  2. SELECT a very thin strip of the border you want to flair
  3. DEFORM>SOFT TRANSFORM (set falloff to ~50mm, depending on how smooth you want the transition)
  4. Drag the arrows on the widget 
  5. ANALYSIS>UNITS/DIMENSIONS>Click and drag to take a measurement of the change in distance you finished up with
Message 3 of 4
theebadge
in reply to: hfcandrew

Thanks for your reply- I had tried soft transform, but my settings were wrong. 

Very helpful video- will be checking out all of yours.  I'm an occupational therapist working in inpatient burns and plastics, mostly hands but also stiff ankle from major repair/debridements/bedrest.  Just wanting to explore options that could supplement or replace more traditional materials/techniques.

Thanks again.

Message 4 of 4
hfcandrew
in reply to: theebadge