Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

carving into a surface

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
jboyd013
496 Views, 8 Replies

carving into a surface

I am very new to meshmixer. I want to carve designs into a surface, but so far, all I have seen is too large scale for what I want. I want to be able to put a celtic knotwork pattern carved into the surface of my object. Something like this image. Is this something that can be done with meshmixer? I am picturing drawing the pattern and somehow attaching it to my object and raising up the pattern. Thanks and forgive me if this is a dumb question. celtic border.jpg

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
fred_dot_u
in reply to: jboyd013

Your goal is something that can be accomplished by using another program. You'd want to have your file in vector format (Inkscape to SVG) and convert it to an extrusion. One can do this with Fusion 360, OpenSCAD and other similar programs. If you'll be using Fusion 360, the entire project can be accomplished in the one program. Depending on the base object, the same can be said of OpenSCAD and likely any of the other "extrude SVG" programs available.

If you don't want to work on converting the JPG file you've attached (too low resolution), consider to search "celtic border SVG" for a suitable version from which to begin.

Message 3 of 9
MagWeb

While vector based processing will give cleaner shapes one can work with pixel images too if you use it as a depth map. Each grey value of a pixel in the image represents a certain depth. E.g.: Black = max extrusion and white = no extrusion.

Going that route you might edit your source image in some common pixel graphics application.