Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with unfolding Uvs (newbie)

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Anathema_
309 Views, 1 Reply

Need help with unfolding Uvs (newbie)

Hey, I'm rather new to Maya and I'm having a bit of trouble doing a project for one of my 3D classes.

The project is to sculpt an animal head on Mudbox, do the topology on Maya to make a lower resolution model, do the Uvs, than go back to Mudbox to make a texture.

My issues is with the Uvs. The teacher gave us specific easy steps on how to do this using an example, but I cannot get them to work. His example was an ape head, so he basically did the ears separately by cutting the edges of a loop, did a plannar in Z, cut edges in the back of the head in a T shape (going down the back of the head and neck), unfolded it and that was it. 

My problem is that I'm doing a doe, so the head and face structure is very different from an ape. When I do what he told us to do, nothing unfold properly and it's kind of a mess. I think what's mostly giving me trouble is that long snout and long neck. Not to mention the ears are completely different as well.

I was wondering if anyone knew how I could unfold the Uvs in similar manner as the teacher, because I'm kind of stuck.

I took some screenshots to provide a visual of what I'm working too.

Thanks in advance

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
sean.heasley
in reply to: Anathema_