Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Xgen corrupting with cached animation

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
904 Views, 3 Replies

Xgen corrupting with cached animation

Hi,

I'm currently working on project and have run into this situation using xgen and cached animation. The groom is fine and renders fine if the cat is in T-pose but once animation cache is applied and playing through the animation, the xgen groom loses its groom. 

I have not previously had this problem and havent seem to find anything linking to it yet.

I have checked and double checked the project is set before opening the scene. I have made the groom exported for animation through file>export patches for batch render, I have also tried caching the animation and this has not seem to have made a difference. I'm still learning xgen and wondering if I have missed a step or if there is something else I need to check. 

Me adding colour to the fur didnt change anything as I had an colour assigned to it before and it was working but just reassigned pxrmaschner hair shader  while I was working on hair spec settings.

Thank you in advance for your help.

renderman render of corrupt xgenrenderman render of corrupt xgenxgen preview of corrupt xgenxgen preview of corrupt xgengroom with animation cache before it went corruptgroom with animation cache before it went corruptguide setupguide setup

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
sean.heasley
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi @Anonymous and welcome to the community!

There's some info in this thread that might help you!

From that thread:

Groomable splines dont follow the mesh as it deforms or moves but the XGen splines, that will be rendered, will stay with the mesh. The groomable splines stay at the bind pose. 

If you hit preview in the new pose, the hairs will generate on the surface