Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weird smoothing deformation

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Insanewolf01
2886 Views, 8 Replies

Weird smoothing deformation

Hello evreyone i am trying to make a model of a mythical creature but when i use smooth preview it goes wrong and the model gets weird deformations. I Have no clue how to solve this since i am pretty new to modeling with maya.

Here are some screenshots:

Before smoothing

akhlut 1.png

After smoothing:

aklut 2.png

I hope you can help me.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
mspeer
in reply to: Insanewolf01

Hi!

Some of you faces are not connected to adjacent faces. (To test this select some faces and just move them.)

To correct this use in Modeling Menu: Edit Mesh -> Merge

Message 3 of 9
Insanewolf01

Thanks Mspeer,

It helped alot but there are still some little deformations but it made it less. I checked if I merged everything and I did but there are still some deformations. like a weird circle.

akhlut 3.pngakhut 4.png

Do you know how to solve this ? thanks for helping me.

Greetings Insanewolf01.

Message 4 of 9
mspeer

Hi!

It looks like you have creases applied to some edges and vertices.

http://help.autodesk.com/view/MAYAUL/2017/ENU/?guid=GUID-DEB060F9-A4B1-4F73-8B4D-B18A13D0E54B

To better see creases:

Display -> Polygons -> Crease ... (toggle on/off)

Display -> Polygons -> Edge Width ( >= 2)

or

Windows -> Settings/Preferences -> Preferences -> Display -> Polygons -> Highlight: Crease Edges (enable)

Windows -> Settings/Preferences -> Preferences -> Display -> Polygons -> Highlight: Edge Width: (2 or higher)

If that's not the problem, please upload the scene-file for further help.

Message 5 of 9
Insanewolf01
in reply to: mspeer

Hello Mspeer,