Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to start a maya learning channel but don't have certified Autodesk Maya license..

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
cbibci
306 Views, 6 Replies

Want to start a maya learning channel but don't have certified Autodesk Maya license..

hi,

I am an CG Artist stayin in Asia ..As I cannot afford expensive Autodesk Maya license is it legally okay for me to start a youtube channel with autodesk maya basic tutorials for sharing knowledge n helping other beginner cg artists..

thanks..

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
mspeer
in reply to: cbibci

Hi!

You need a commercial Maya (incl. Maya Indie) or Maya LT license if you want to provide tutorials on YouTube.

Message 3 of 7
xxmarkc

I think this is fair. But as always things are not so black and white. If you are a student with a legally obtained educational licence (i.e. studying at recognised qualification awarding school) then as part of your education I would argue there is some chance sharing on YouTube would be ok - as long as you were very careful to be steering clear of all YouTube monetisation.

However YouTube is really about monetisation, so get Indie and see if you can make some money. Who knows you might hit earnings limit in which case the cost of a licence would be the least of your problems!

Message 4 of 7
mspeer
in reply to: xxmarkc

Hi!

"If you are a student with a legally obtained educational licence (i.e. studying at recognised qualification awarding school) then as part of your education I would argue there is some chance sharing on YouTube would be ok"

- No it's not. YouTube is a commercial driven platform.

Message 5 of 7
DarrenP

another thread on this: https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/maya-forum/student-version-of-maya-for-youtube/td-p/5663234

DarrenP