Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Triangular bottle base to cylinder

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
Anonymous
1135 Views, 14 Replies

Triangular bottle base to cylinder

Hi,
I’m new to Maya and need to make a bottle with a curved triangular base which then blends into a standard round neck after the shoulder. How do I do this smoothly?
Thanks
Tags (3)
14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
sean.heasley
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi @Anonymous and welcome to the community!

I made it pretty fast so its a bit sloppy but do you mean something like this?

triangle bottle.png

If so, it's basically a process of creating a cylinder and getting the initial shape set up properly then merging vertices together until you create the 3 sides.

If you'd like I'd be happy to make a video on how I did this!

Please let me know if anything changes!

Message 3 of 15
mspeer

Hi!

If you are trying to do something like this, Nurbs and Curves will give you much more control.

bottle_triangle_base.gif

Message 4 of 15
Anonymous
in reply to: sean.heasley

Brilliant, yes, I'd love to see that, I get issues with any rendering afterwards as my pulling edges about gives rendering artefacts!

Thanks again

Message 5 of 15
Anonymous
in reply to: mspeer

Wow, yes, that may well work better, I need to hollow it out perfectly with a 'liquid' fill too, not having much success when I start to deform, pushing it about to get the shape!

Message 6 of 15
mspeer

Hi!

Are you talking about thickness?

bottle_triangle_base2.gif

Message 7 of 15
Anonymous

How did you get that nice topology? I tried it with Nurbs and converted it to Polygons. But the topology is nasty. Did you use the Birail 3+ Tool? Perhaps I have should rebuild my profile curves 😄

Message 8 of 15
mspeer

Hi!

Use "Advanced Tessellation".

Message 9 of 15
Anonymous