Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with arnold renderer

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
aidencella
283 Views, 8 Replies

Problems with arnold renderer

Hello, I am fairly new to MAYA and not experienced in rendering at all, but I have been experiencing a weird issue recently in that my materials just dont seem to be rendering correctly. Even when I create a new project and set up one simple sphere, apply an aiStandardSurface material, put the preset to brushed metal, and create an aiSkyDomeLight I get a sort of matt grey color that doesnt look at all as it should. I will provide a picture of what I mean. I downloaded a project made by someone else and tested theirs and could see it working as intended, and for the life of me I cannot find out why mine isn't working. I will include some pictures here but please let me know if any additional information should be provided.

This is what it looks like with a light in the scene and a standard ai surface set to the brushed metal preset. It should not be looking like this and doesnt look like metal at all.This is what it looks like with a light in the scene and a standard ai surface set to the brushed metal preset. It should not be looking like this and doesnt look like metal at all.

Tags (2)
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Ιάσονας
in reply to: aidencella

probably best if you didnt use a skydomelight, try with just a directional light

Message 3 of 9
aidencella
in reply to: Ιάσονας

I have tried other types of lights but everything gets very blurry and it still doesnt look like metal. I don't think its a problem with the SkyDomeLight because I downloaded a sample project from the youtuber Academic Phoenix Plus and hers works completely fine and i dont notice anything really different at all. I can provide a picture of it working right here.