Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is "Highlight selection mode" really working?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Matthew-F
670 Views, 5 Replies

Is "Highlight selection mode" really working?

Hello.

I was exploring Maya selection modes since I'm still learning it. I've encountered a strange button called "Highlight Selection mode" but I really can't get how is working. Here's what the doc says:

"When you are selecting components in any component mode, object selection is disabled, so that you can stay in component selection mode; for example, to select multiple components (vertices, faces, and so on). To override this setting, so that clicking on a non-component part of your object selects the entire object (putting you back in object mode), turn Highlight Selection off." (https://help.autodesk.com/view/MAYAUL/2022/ENU/index.html?guid=GUID-86E5CEDA-4100-40AE-8F95-346206CF...GUID-F1055EAD-92FA-45A3-9526-5D10E0881587.png

I have to say that I tried to make it work using a couple of poly spheres. But the only thing that is doing is to disable selection by dragging and hide the wireframe, it doesn't actually change to "Object Mode"...

Another thing that I can't understand is what does the guide refer with "a non-component part of your object"?

Can someone explain to me with some example, how it works please?

Thank you very much! 

Labels (1)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Hi @Matthew-F 

It is hiding selection highlight and waht ever you click it stays in component mode

Not: it only work while we use keyboard shortcuts to switch to component mode !

maya selection hughlight.gif

Message 3 of 6

Hi @Abdulla-Qaladzay, thanks for the reply