Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get rid of small elements on UV map?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
jaadlugi
394 Views, 5 Replies

How to get rid of small elements on UV map?

Hi, I'm a beginner to using Maya, I made a model in SketchUP and exported it to Maya, but after doing the UV auto there are a few small parts. How to combine them to make them one?

Labels (1)
  • UV
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
hamsterHamster
in reply to: jaadlugi

You do it with MoveAndSew command in UV editor, with Edges selected.

The question would be: "Which edges?"

The answer is not straightforward, as it depends on what are you modelling and what tools are at your disposal. For the organic models, like a human, you make seams as short and as little visible (back, armpits, under pelvis, clothing, hair), preferably square shape, and not the least. For the architecture, you would sew those edges which require continuous texture, however you would want the faces keep split for the wooden planks. You can pay less care about seams if using 3D texture painting software, while your aim is always the same - to use as much UV space as possible, less gaps between the uv-shells.

,,,_°(O__O)°_,,,
Maya2019.1 @ Windows10 & GeForce GTX1080Ti

If the post was helpful, click the
 ACCEPT SOLUTION  button, so others might find it much more easily.

Message 3 of 6
jaadlugi

Okay, i will try this 🙂

Message 4 of 6
jaadlugi

Okay, I checked it, that's what I needed, but is there a way to kind of save it?
My point is to sew the edges and make the auto UV again, currently when doing the auto UV for the second time, the elements return to their original form.

Message 5 of 6
hamsterHamster