Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting a model to FBX-Format - Error occours! Please help me

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
3440 Views, 10 Replies

Exporting a model to FBX-Format - Error occours! Please help me

Hi @all,

I'm a real noob in terms of Maya but I'm doing my best to improve my skills. I want to use one of my models in a program called "3D Game Studio 7", but the only file-format Maya *and* 3DGS are supporting is ".fbx". Well, I tried the "Export All..." command and everything seemed to work fine, but then I got this error message:

-----------------------------------------------------
Error: File Input / Output Error (1)
Description: Error writing the FBX file...
-----------------------------------------------------

Not exactly what I would call a "useful description". What did I do wrong? I used the standard-settings, except from selecting "fbx" from the drop-down list... Please help me, it would be really important for me.

Greetz!

Alan
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
aaron1a12
in reply to: Anonymous

I also use 3D Gamestudio 7 and Maya and the problem with exporting FBX is that I think you can only use polygonal meshes, i.e. no lights, no nurbs, no particles, no animations, etc. Maybe try triangulating your meshes.
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous

I thought about that, too. But I just tried to create a new scene in Maya, with nothing but a simple Polygon-Cube in it and then I wanted to export it. I got the same error as yesterday, although yesterday I wanted to export a way more complex model. So that is definitly not the reason for that error... But - since you are using 3DGS too, how do you export your Maya-Models...?

Greetz!

Alan
Message 4 of 11
Anonymous

Somebody, please help me, I really need to get that error fixed...
Message 5 of 11
aaron1a12