Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I get the DistanceBetween node calc distance between RotatePivotTranslate

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
Peteman12
1249 Views, 13 Replies

How do I get the DistanceBetween node calc distance between RotatePivotTranslate

I am currently studying the Rigging For Games book by Eyal Assaf, but I am having trouble in chapter 5, regarding the stretchy IK part.

The problem is is that it tells me I need to do the following:

1. topJnt_LOC > RotatePivotTranslate to topJnt_DBN > Point1
2. topJnt_LOC > RotatePivotTranslate to atRest_DBN > Point1
3. topJnt_LOC > World Matrix [0] to atRest_DBN > InMatrix1
4. midJnt_LOC > RotatePivotTranslate to topJnt_DBN > Point2
5. midJnt_LOC RotatePivotTranslate to endJnt_DBN > Point1
6. endJnt_LOC > World Matrix [0] to atRest_DBN > InMatrix2
7. endJnt_LOC > RotatePivotTranslate to atRest_DBN > Point2
8. endJnt _LOC > RotatePivotTranslate to endJnt_DBN > Point2

_LOC's are location objects and _DBN's are DistanceBetween nodes. However, when I try to connect the RotatePivotTranslates to their respective Points, the value I get is 0.0 for endJNT_DBN and topJNT_DBN. The atRest_DBN seems to work, so I assume it has something to do with the Matrices. Meanwhile, the file that I downloaded from http://www.thetingirl.com/rigging-for-games/ has these same nodes and they give me the right values ~5 for topJnt_DBN and ~6.6 for endJnt_DBN. Even more crazy, if I create a new node in the provided file, I get 0.0 for the values, while if I import those nodes from the provided file into my working file, the nodes give me the proper values. I am at a complete loss as to why one works and the other doesn't.

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
sean.heasley
in reply to: Peteman12

Hi @Peteman12 and welcome!