Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to open an .iam document from it's part using iLogic Rules

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
619 Views, 5 Replies

How to open an .iam document from it's part using iLogic Rules

So I'm quite new to the Ilogic system and my Programming skills are not very good.

Now the thing is, I want to open an Assembly and update it once I've saved the part underneath it using iLogic Rules and such. The part I'm referring to is a basic thing with a few parameters that can be changed in a pop up field I already made, once these parameters are changed I will save the part and then I want the Assembly to be automatically opened and updated. I've tried a few codes but non so far seems to work. 

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
mcgyvr
in reply to: Anonymous

How will you define which assembly the part is used in?

An assembly knows which parts are used in it..

A part does NOT know which assemblies its used in.

What happens when your part is used in more than one assembly?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: mcgyvr

As far as I know It will not be used in another assembly, and I was thinking about telling it which exact document it should open. not just to tell it open assembly but open that assembly

Message 4 of 6
chandra.shekar.g

@Anonymous,