Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor 2016, Lofted Flange won't play nice

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Cortman
612 Views, 3 Replies

Inventor 2016, Lofted Flange won't play nice

I am a 2nd year student and am stuck on a problem that I think Inventor should be able to handle, most likely the problem is me, but I have honestly worked on this for over 3 hours and 2 days, looked at all I could find on line and at school.

The part is fairly simple formed bracket, steel, a stamped part I am revers engineering from a sample. I am trying to create it in Sheet metal, so that I can flat pattern the blank. I will attach a picture of the Geometry and the part that I drew using the 3d loft tool, not the Flanged loft tool in sheet metal. I am also attaching the best I could do with the "Flanged Loft" tool in sheet metal.

The Geometry is pretty simple, I get the feelng that inventor is having trouble creating the part facets in a press brake module, but it would seem that in the press formed output it should be doable? I even tried cahnging the sheet metal defaults to a really thin and soft material thinking it would bend easier with out thickness to model but nothing seems to help it Flange loft.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
PaulMunford
in reply to: Cortman

Hi Cortman,

Inventor will only create flat patterns for parts that can be press braked, not stamped. 

In order to flat pattern, the model must be a developable surface, of consistent thickness and have all edges perpendicular to the faces.

I've created a blog post here on the subject that you might find helpful:

https://graitec.co.uk/blog/entry/autodesk-inventor-sheet-metal-flat-pattern-success-every-time

Your model has edges that are not 90d eg to the faces: