Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Export an assembly from Vault without Linking back to Vault

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
stephen.tecce
641 Views, 5 Replies

How to Export an assembly from Vault without Linking back to Vault

Hello all,

At my site we use Inventor and Vault for just about everything, I've only been here about 3 months and all my prior CAD experience has been in Solidworks. I am a Manufacturing engineer, so I do very little actual modeling in Inventor, however I use presentation mode regularly to make assembly procedures with clear exploded views since the normally assembly mode is somehow incapable of this function.

Since I am not doing any actual modeling, having links back to the vault is not only pointless for me, it is also potentially dangerous if I were ever to accidentially check something out. When I did work similar to this with Solidworks I could just use the "pack and go" function and it would export every single part/assembly and they would be their own, independant, locally saved files on my machine totally isolated from their source and only linking to eachother to preserve mates, nothing else would link back where they came from at all. I am looking for a way to accomplish this in Inventor, which I can't figure out to save my life.

The reason this is so necessary for me is a rather large domino effect caused by inventor. It is very common for me to throw assembly fixtures into the models to show them in my procedures, and since you can only have one assembly in a presentation at a time I cannot put the fixtures into presentation mode without also adding them to the main assembly, which I cannot do without checking it out of vault, which simply isn't an option for me.