Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flat pattern giving wrong result

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
peterF4LYP
356 Views, 6 Replies

Flat pattern giving wrong result

Hi im trying to make a flat pattern of an extruded part that i have done before many times and now it does not want to work. Im still new to Inventor and im not sure where i am going wrong. Could be something simple.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
jhackney1972
in reply to: peterF4LYP

First of all, the part was not declared as a sheet metal part of the same thickness declared in the extrusion sketch.  Second, it is a continuous loop so it will never unfold.  I created a screencast of the process.  I did not know where you want to place the Rip, to break the continuous loop, I simply choose a convenient face.

"If you find my answer solved your question, please select the Accept Solution icon"

John Hackney
Retired

Beyond the Drafting Board

Message 3 of 7
peterF4LYP
in reply to: jhackney1972

Hi 

Thanks for getting back to me, when i do it the one end stays curved. I will try send a screen shot of it. There must be settings in the sheet metal defaults not allowing it to work. 

Regards Peter

Message 4 of 7
peterF4LYP

Thanks John

Came right, i went to Manage - Styles Editor and changed the default from 0.500 to 6.0mm and it worked. Need to buy you a beer. Thanks

Regards Peter

Message 5 of 7

Are your arcs and lines Tangent?

Is your Sketch1 fully defined?

Message 6 of 7

Yes thanks, got it sorted. Thasnks for the help guys.

Regards Peter

Message 7 of 7
johnsonshiue