Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dragging view cube locks inventor 2018

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
413 Views, 7 Replies

dragging view cube locks inventor 2018

Out of the blue, When I drag the view cube to rotate a part it freezes and I have to close the program. I can use it to select a face, but when go to drag it, as soon as I touch the cube and start to drag, it freezes. The real strange part is that it happens on 5 other computers, there weren't any Autodesk or windows updates which is usually the culprit. I know there are other ways of rotating the part, but I have been using this method for 13 years and its like muscle memory to rotate the part this way. Also it happens whether is is an existing part or new so its not a model issue.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
llorden4
in reply to: Anonymous

I'd start by checking your video card drivers and making sure they're up to date.

Autodesk Inventor Certified Professional
Message 3 of 8
johnsonshiue

Hi Eugene,

Yes, Leo is right. The behaviors could be graphics related or hardware related. Please make sure all critical Windows updates are installed. 3D Connexion (if used) driver  is updated.

For newer Windows 10 builds, make sure "Text Cursor" is disabled. This new enhancement is known to cause Inventor to crash.

Many thanks!

Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Software Test Engineer
Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: johnsonshiue

• I have downloaded the latest driver for my Quatro 4000, I need to have IT install it and hopefully it is the solution, And Text Cursor was off
Message 5 of 8
Anonymous