Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating threads

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
598 Views, 5 Replies

Creating threads

I am a student and I have Inventor Professional 2016 on my laptop. I am trying to create threads on a 3/8" x 3/4" lg. capscrew using the coil command, my text book does not enough info on this procedure.

Help!!!!

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
The_Angry_Elf
in reply to: Anonymous

Do you really need to make the actual threads or just specify the threads in a drawing?

I ask because creating the actual representation of threads is not an easy task. It's not just a simple rotation of a coil.

If you just need to call out the threads in a drawing, Inventor thread command will do such. The model will look smooth with the exception of the bitmap that "looks" like threads, but when you detail it by using the Hole and Thread command, the specs of the thread you selected will be posted on the drawing.

If you do need to create them in the model, simplify them as much as you can.

screw1.PNGscrew.PNG

Cheers,

Jim O'Flaherty
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Owner - Celtic Design Services, LLC - cdscad.com - An Autodesk Service Partner
We are available for hire. Please DM me or visit our website
Autodesk Inventor Certified Professional * Autodesk Certified Instructor * Autodesk Expert Elite * AU Speaker 2015 through 2022 * AU Speaker Mentor
"Mr. O'Flaherty, never go into small computers. There's no future in them" - Dr. C.S. Choi circa 1984
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: The_Angry_Elf

I am building parts for an ass'y.
Message 4 of 6
swalton

So @The_Angry_Elf's question is this:  Do you need the actual threads cut into your part?