Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3D Sweep Error

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
Anonymous
668 Views, 11 Replies

3D Sweep Error

I have one sweep in my model where the Inventor software is changing from a parametric circle into a curve and adding a spine to the model.  It is SWEEP5 in the attached model.  Can anyone explain why?  Tech support at the AutoDesk reseller doesn't know.  I have been using AutoCAD for 25 years & SW for 15 years.  I have been using Inventor for 3 months and so far not impressed.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
jhackney1972
in reply to: Anonymous

Sweep5 profile is the end of another piece of railing.  The sketch is not parametric, it is simply reference geometry.  You need to explain your issue better because from what I see, the sweep is acting normally.  By the way, sometimes modeling in a new application is a matter of attitude, give Inventor a chance, it has some good features. 

"If you find my answer solved your question, please select the Accept Solution icon"

John Hackney
Retired

Beyond the Drafting Board

Message 3 of 12
DRoam

Pull your End of Part marker up just after Sweep 4. When I measure the angle between the first line segment in Sketch 18, and the face at the end of Sweep 4, I get 89.9947.... deg, not 90 degrees. This means your sweep profile in Sketch 20 isn't perpendicular to your sweep path, so your sweep isn't going to be perfectly round, hence the extra edge. Correct the issue and the edge goes away.

Sweep Angle.png

Message 4 of 12
Anonymous
in reply to: DRoam

Thanks for seeing that. 

Why the software has arbitrarily decided to terminate Sweep4 in that manner when the sketch shows it clearly requiring to terminate at 90deg.  Unreal.

Message 5 of 12
Anonymous
in reply to: jhackney1972