Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going from Non-Commercial to Commercial - License question.

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Beringline
268 Views, 1 Reply

Going from Non-Commercial to Commercial - License question.

Hello. I hope this is the right area posting this.

I am currently a Computer Graphic Art student graduating in January 2015. I have been writing on a video game, which I will (Hopefully) start creating.
However, here certain issue appear as I currently have a 3 year student-license, and that license is a non-commercial license.

Can I start creating 3D assets for the game, using my student-version, as in theory the early development will be non-profit.

Once (If) the game gets ready for a commercial release, can I then buy either a stand alone, or a subscription version of a home-profit license, and use all assets I made in the student-version for the game. (As at that point I will buy a commercial copy of maya)

Is it problematic or illegal if I use any assets made in the student version, even if I get a commercial use version of Maya right before the game's release?

The core-issue here is: I will not know when or whether the game will be released. A lot can happen during the development, and it is not unknown that some game projects will never see the light of the day.

Soon, I finish 5 years of studying, I unfortunately cannot afford gambling 4.500 eur on a stand alone license - at least not at this time, as the game is very much in concept and preproduction right now. 

So in short, can I use my student-version of Maya until the day my game might sell, and swap over to a commercial use?

I hope anyone can answer this, it has been very difficult finding any clear answer on when something is non commercial and commercial.