Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Observer
2 Posts
Post 1 of 3

Entertainment Creation Suite 2014 Student Edition professional use question

330 Views, 2 Replies
01-22-2014 01:29 PM
I'm a student in college about to graduate and have grown accustomed to the 3DS Max, mudbox, Maya, and was looking for a way to use it in the future. I came across a pamphlet from an online retailer that sold the "Entertainment Creation Suite Ultimate 2014 Student" package for a discounted price and was thinking of buying, but once I looked over some of the Student License information (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/index?siteID=123112&id=18270111) it states that student products can not be used for "for-profit" purposes. Question: I'm wondering if this means that if I purchase this package am I still able to professionally use whatever I make (i.e. I'm trying to make and sell Indie Video games and I need to know if I can legally use this product to do so) or am I limited to certain restrictions?
AUTODESK EXPERT ELITE
6969 Posts
801 Kudos
284 Solutions
Post 2 of 3

Re: Entertainment Creation Suite 2014 Student Edition professional use question

01-22-2014 01:35 PM in reply to: ksimms

Anything in a student package is for learning only.  That applies to the content you generate as well.  You cannot later open it with a "pro"/paid for package and reversion it.

Aren't the Educational versions supposed to be free to students?  Is this from an authorized AutoDesk reseller or a personal sale?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.

Highlighted
Observer
2 Posts
Post 3 of 3

Re: Entertainment Creation Suite 2014 Student Edition professional use question

01-22-2014 01:58 PM in reply to: dgorsman