Did you mean: 

Shop Sabre (Win CNC based) post problems

27 REPLIES 27
SOLVED
Message 1 of 28
matthewsclark
3665 Views, 27 Replies

Shop Sabre (Win CNC based) post problems

I recently purchased a ShopSabre CNC router with a rotary axis. I'm relatively new to CNC programming and G Code but comfortable in Fusion and Inventor.  I've been doing test cuts, right now dialed back to just a circle, to try and get the machine sorted and am having problems with Fusion's tool paths (there is a post for Shop Sabre on the Autodesk post page and shop Sabre provided me with an older one that they had modified as well, they both produce the same results here).

The machine came with Vectric as well. It outputs circles as 4 90 degree arcs while Fusion uses 2 180 degree arcs. Also their lead in and out strategies are different but I've tried to match them as closely as possible.

For some reason that I can't figure out, the Fusion toolpaths are making the circle not close, even with a very gentle lead in the circle starts out too large so when it comes around the circle and closes the cut there is a scallop outside of the circle diameter at the start of the cut.  The Vectric cuts are perfect.

As I understand it with I J coded arcs, it shouldn't matter if they are 90 or 180 because the start and end point is specified and the center is calculated, so I'm suspecting the lead in but that's about as far as my thinking has come.

I've attached the code from both programs (just a single finishing pass in a pocketed circle) and a photo, any ideas?

Thanks, Matt

(p.s. - error message says .tap is not a valid file extension for attachments haha, might want to add it - I made them .txt files)

27 REPLIES 27
Message 2 of 28
grigorov.rv
in reply to: matthewsclark

Try not to use arcs, replace them with straight lines

Message 3 of 28
matthewsclark
in reply to: grigorov.rv