Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Option To Turn Off The "Save" Dialog Box When Saving A Document

5 REPLIES 5
Reply
Message 1 of 6
isocam
193 Views, 5 Replies

Option To Turn Off The "Save" Dialog Box When Saving A Document

Support,

 

Is it possible, on the next release of Fusion 360 to give the user the option to "Turn Off" the pop-up "Save" dialog box when saving a Document?

 

Please see the attached picture.

 

Many thanks in advance!

 

Darren

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Phil.E
in reply to: isocam

As you probably know, Fusion saves a version of each file, every time you save. The intention of that dialog box is to let you add a label to the version for future reference. There is no way to turn it off.

 

There is a preference setting you might find useful, which is to create a version when you close a design. Basically this could be called "save on close". There is no prompt to create a label. 

PhilE_0-1668539845432.png

 





Phil Eichmiller
Software Engineer
Quality Assurance
Autodesk, Inc.


Message 3 of 6
isocam
in reply to: Phil.E

Hi Phil,

 

I have already switched this option off, but it still continues to show the Pop-Up dialog box.

 

Please try switching it off yourself and save a part to see if you get the same result.

 

This could be, possibly, a small bug in Fusion 360.

 

Please can you let me know your findings?

 

Many thanks in advance!

 

Kindest Regards

 

Darren

Message 4 of 6
Phil.E
in reply to: isocam

With "automatic version on close" enabled, the following workflow will allow you to save without seeing the dialog box.

1. Enable automatic  version on close.

2. Edit a design (do your regular work, save important versions if you need, etc.)

3. Close the design when you are done with it.

Result: The design closes, data is saved as a new version in the data panel, and there is no dialog box asking you to create a label for it.

Note: With this setting enabled, there is no way to close a design without an automatic save occurring, and a new version from it.

 





Phil Eichmiller
Software Engineer
Quality Assurance
Autodesk, Inc.


Message 5 of 6
isocam
in reply to: Phil.E

Support,

 

I know I have asked this question previously, but, can you please allow the user to turn off the "Save" dialog box every time the user saves a document?

 

Nothing that I try works!

 

Many thanks in advance!

 

Darren

Message 6 of 6
Phil.E
in reply to: isocam

Thanks for asking. It certainly is not my decision about this behavior, but I can explain it.

 

One of the major values of using cloud storage is the ability to refer to past versions. As such, Fusion is designed to allow you to add a label to each one. This is considered "added value" and is important to that workflow. That's why it's here.

 

I can file an improvement ticket, but with limited development resources it will not get a lot of attention compared to bug fixing and other ongoing large projects that impact most customers. The number of requests plays a large role in dedicating resources to change the code. 

 

Have you tried the advice I gave above? At least you can close your documents without any save dialog appearing. Hopefully that helps a little.

 





Phil Eichmiller
Software Engineer
Quality Assurance
Autodesk, Inc.


Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Post to forums  

Autodesk Design & Make Report