Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

mesh to prismatic solid fails for multiple reasons

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
68 Views, 2 Replies

mesh to prismatic solid fails for multiple reasons

ok, ill try and illustrate my process the best i can. End goal is a solid for FEM with minimal faces

I am a sketchup pro user. I have been using it for years, its how my brain works. I have tried to use solidworks (i am a cswp) and after a few months to a year, i had to go back to sketchup, it works better for my brain 🙂 we all use software we are comfortable with haha

Ok, so i made a project in sketchup and using solid inspector in SU, it reports the object is watertight/solid and has volume. I export the object as an STL file.

Next, in F360, i import the mesh. F360 reports its not solid and has no volume. I dont understand why?

SO using the repair function, i can not get it to repair with stich and remove. So i try wrap. This time it repairs.

Next i try to convert the mesh but it "fails to compute" Says it needs face groups. 

So i do mesh,prepare, face groups, accurate. it takes a while since i have so many faces (more on this later)

once face groups have been created, i convert the mesh to a prismatic body. 

it literally removes 90% of the object and leaves a bunch of floating pieces everywhere as shown in the attached image. 

ok, so i try the process again, but i decimate it so the total amount of faces is 4999. Still same issue.