Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low poly model to flat pattern

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Phweech
256 Views, 9 Replies

Low poly model to flat pattern

Hi team,

I'm relatively new to Fusion 360 so apologies if I'm not using the correct terminology. I am working on a low poly model of a rabbit, which I hope to be able to produce a flat pattern from to get it laser cut from 2mm MS and Tig weld together to create a sculpture. 

https://a360.co/3TYL1sM

The rabbit is meshed into a low poly shape in fusion, how break it down into the separate faces and then into a flat pattern so I can get it laser cut? Any help is appreciated!

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
jhackney1972
in reply to: Phweech

Question: Do you wish to have "every" surface created as an independent panel or do you want to combine some adjacent panels together and then flatten them into one sheet you will have to bend at assembly.  For example: on the top of the model nose, you can create a joined sheet metal panel, you can flatten, or you can keep all three panels separate.

You, of course cannot do this trick on all panels but it can be applied to some.

Sheet Metal Panel.jpgThree Panels.jpg

"If you find my answer solved your question, please select the Accept Solution icon"

John Hackney
Retired

Beyond the Drafting Board

Message 3 of 10
Phweech

Thanks for the quick reply @jhackney1972