Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Default Orientation/ViewCube

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
autodeskGGG5S
405 Views, 6 Replies

Default Orientation/ViewCube

I am brand new to Fusion 360 with a 20 year background using Adobe Illustrator in two dimensions which is proving a bit of a drawback when it comes to 3D.

I'm watching YouTube videos to get started but I am coming across the same stumbling block all the time because the videos all seem to have a different home orientation to me, different axis colours and the ViewCube axes are different (please see attachments). The labels TOP, FRONT and RIGHT are the same but that's about it, X, Y and Z are different. The graph lines on the YouTube videos are red top left to bottom right and blue, top right to bottom left but mine are red top left to bottom right and green top right to bottom left.

I can't see any settings to change this and I have played Rubik's ViewCube forever trying to match the orientation but I really can't follow any tutorials properly if we don't start on the same page.

Can anybody offer any advice, please?

[edit] I actually just found the answer by near accident. I had tried changing the default orientation setting in my profile preferences from X up to Y up but nothing happened but then tried opening a new document and there it was.

I suppose I should wonder why producers of videos for absolute beginners change this default setting without explaining to their viewers what they have done because it is very confusing to try to follow.

I'd delete the post but don't seem able to do so, perhaps I should leave it anyway for anybody else who is confused.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7